Utah Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Education Course (HB180)
Where can I take the course?
To take the free online course, click here.
What is the purpose of the new Utah OHV education course?
The purpose of the Utah OHV Education Course is to equip operators with awareness of Utah’s OHV laws and rules, increase rider safety; promote respectful, sustainable, and on-trail OHV operation; and promote respect for the communities affected by OHV operation.
Who created the education course?
The course was created by members of the OHV community and local partners. Partners include The OHV Community, Grand County, T.R.E.A.D. Lightly!
Who is required to take the course?
Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, Utah will require all OHV operators 18 years of age or older to complete the free Utah Off-Highway Vehicle Education Course.
Do drivers under 18 years of age need to take the course?
No. Drivers under 18 are required to take the existing, separate youth OHV safety course for $35, or take an approved, in-person hands-on skills course and exam. For more information, click here.
If I completed the youth OHV safety course, do I still need to take the adult education course?
No. Your youth education certification course and the blue certificate card is valid for a lifetime, and you are not required to take the adult course. Though, you are welcome to take it for additional education.
What does the education course cover?
The course covers basic safety advice, guidance on legal requirements for operating an OHV on public lands, packing out waste, and how to be a good steward and sustainable user of trails and the environment.
Does it cost anything to take the course?
No. The education course is free to take.
How long will it take me to complete the course?
The entire course should take 30 minutes or less to complete, and consists of 26 questions that are accompanied by educational videos.
Do I need to pass a test?
Yes, though the answers will all be provided within the course to ensure anyone can be successful.
Do I need any documents for proof of completing the course?
Yes. You will receive a certificate upon completion that you can save a digital version or print a hard copy for proof.
Do I need to take the education course every year?
No. The course is only required once in a lifetime.
Are there any exemptions to taking the course?
Yes. Snowmobile operators, implement of husbandry (farm use), guided tours and sanctioned OHV events are exempt.
What types of OHVs are included in the course?
Completion of the course is required to operate Type 1 ATVs, Type II UTV or side-by-sides, Type III OHVs, and off-highway motorcycles. Snowmobiles and 4x4s registered as normal road vehicles are exempt from taking the course.
Will passenger car-plated drivers be required to take the course?
No. This course is for OHV operators.
Does a Type III OHV include full-sized 4x4s? Dual Sport Bikes?
“All-terrain type III vehicle” means any other motor vehicle, not defined in Subsection (2), (3), (12), or (22), designed for or capable of travel over unimproved terrain. (b) “All-terrain type III vehicle” does not include golf carts, any vehicle designed to carry a person with a disability, any vehicle not specifically designed for recreational use, or farm tractors as defined under Section 41-1a-102.
Are E-Bike operators required to take the course?
No. Occupants on E-bikes that do not meet the definition of an off-highway motorcycle would not be required to take the education course.
Other OHV Education FAQs
My family is coming from out of state or county. Does my child need to get a Utah education certificate?
You must complete Utah’s OHV education course. You can take it online and once completed, print out a temporary certificate valid for 60 days or until your permanent one arrives. To take the online course, click here.
What are Utah’s passenger age restrictions, helmet laws, and car seat laws on SxS or UTVs?
There are no age restriction laws in Utah for passengers on SxS/UTVs. There are no helmet laws for UTVs and no laws mandating a carseat in a UTV for passengers under a certain age. The Division recommends proper headgear and appropriate safety restraints be worn whenever possible, but ultimately it is up to the operator’s best judgment.
My child is under the age of 18. What does Utah require for them to legally operate an OHV?
A person under the age of 18 may not operate and an owner may not permit that person to operate an off-highway vehicle on any Utah public land, trail, street, or highway unless the person can reach and operate each control necessary to safely operate the off-highway vehicle. The person must also possess a safety certificate issued or approved by the division. The person must be under the direct supervision of someone who is at least 18 years of age.
Can someone under the age of 16 operate a street-legal machine? Or someone who does not possess a valid driver’s license?
As long as the youth has obtained an OHV Education certificate they may operate any machine (other than a snowmobile, which requires a snowmobile OHV education certificate) regardless of the status of the machine. If they intend to operate the machine on a roadway, they must be 16 years of age and possess a valid driving license.
My child lost their OHV education certificate, how do I get a new one?
If you click here, it will lead you to the OHV Education Replacement Certificate Form. A replacement costs $2. Please fill out your information and email it to email@example.com or mail it to:
Utah Division of Outdoor Recreation
1594 West North Temple Ste 100
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Is there a Utah law that dictates how many passengers can be on an ATV?
There is no Utah law dictating what someone can and cannot do regarding passengers on off-highway vehicles. The Division does recommend people follow the guidelines of the manufacturer.
I am going to some Utah sand dunes. Do I need a whip flag for my machine or vehicle?
A red or orange flag that is a minimum of six by 12 inches must be attached to OHVs driven on sand dunes.
Does someone under the age of 18 need to wear a helmet when operating on public land?
A person under the age of 18 may not operate or ride on all-terrain type I vehicles, snowmobiles, or motorcycles on public land unless the person is wearing a properly fitted and fastened, United States Department of Transportation safety rated protective headgear designed for motorized vehicle use. All-terrain type II vehicles (SxS & UTVs) do not require helmets, regardless of the age of the passenger or operator.
Does my child need to have an OHV education certificate to operate a snowmobile?
Anyone under the age of 18 must take a snowmobile education course. This course is specific to snowmobiles. An OHV education card for ATV/Motorcycles is not sufficient for operating a snowmobile.
For other questions or concerns, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.