Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Welcome to the Utah Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Program!

Whether you’re riding the salmon-colored landscape of Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park or cruising along snow-packed trails of Wasatch Mountain State Park, we want you to ride safely and protect your riding privilege.

As a reminder, the growth of any OHV sport requires rider responsibility. Do your part by properly registering machines, learning and obeying OHV safety laws and rules, and sharing trails with fellow user groups including equestrians, hikers, mountain bikers, skiers, and snowshoers.

New HB180 Education Requirements

Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, Utah will require all OHV operators to complete the Utah Off-Highway Vehicle Education Course. Operators under the age of 18 shall possess a youth OHV education certificate in order to operate an OHV on public land, road or trail. Operators 18 years of age or older may operate an OHV if they possess an approved adult OHV education certificate. The once-in-a-lifetime course is expected to take less than 30 minutes to complete and will be available beginning January 1, 2023.

RESOURCES

Utah OHV Education Course
360-degree Trail Map
Tread Lightly Course
Order Your Non-Resident Permit

CONTACT US

Phone: (801)538-RIDE (7433)
Email: ohveducation@utah.gov
Address: 1594 W North Temple
PO Box 146001
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

Welcome to the Utah Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Program!

Whether you’re riding the salmon-colored landscape of Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park or cruising along snow-packed trails of Wasatch Mountain State Park, we want you to ride safely and protect your riding privilege.

As a reminder, the growth of any OHV sport requires rider responsibility. Do your part by properly registering machines, learning and obeying OHV safety laws and rules, and sharing trails with fellow user groups including equestrians, hikers, mountain bikers, skiers, and snowshoers.

New HB180 Education Requirements

Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, Utah will require all OHV operators to complete the Utah Off-Highway Vehicle Education Course. Operators under the age of 18 shall possess a youth OHV education certificate in order to operate an OHV on public land, road or trail. Operators 18 years of age or older may operate an OHV if they possess an approved adult OHV education certificate. The once-in-a-lifetime course is expected to take less than 30 minutes to complete and will be available beginning January 1, 2023.

RESOURCES

Utah OHV Education Course
360-degree Trail Map
Tread Lightly Course
Order Your Non-Resident Permit

CONTACT US

Phone: (801)538-RIDE (7433)
Email: ohveducation@utah.gov
Address: 1594 W North Temple
PO Box 146001
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

The monthly newsletter keeps you updated on Utah’s outdoor community, industry, events, jobs, stewardship opportunities, and more.

Stay up to date on Utah’s outdoor community by signing up here.

Check out past issues of our newsletter here.