Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

OHV Registration & Permits

All OHVs must display a current OHV registration sticker when operated or transported on public lands or roads. Off-highway motorcycles may be registered as street legal if they are safety inspected and insured. OHV registrations expire annually on the last day of the month the OHV was purchased.

Beginning January 1, 2023, off-highway vehicles (excluding motorcycles and snowmobiles) will require a license plate.

Visit the appropriate link below for more information on how you can go about registering your OHV to help get you on the trail fast.

Ride safe, and happy trails!

HB180 Education Requirements

Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, Utah will require all OHV operators to complete the Utah Off-Highway Vehicle Education Course. Operators under the age of 18 shall possess a youth OHV education certificate in order to operate an OHV on public land, road or trail. Operators 18 years of age or older may operate an OHV if they possess an approved adult OHV education certificate. The test will be available beginning January 1, 2023.

DID YOU KNOW?

Did you know that properly installed and maintained spark arrestors significantly reduce the risk of starting a wildfire with your OHV?

Without regular spark arrestor upkeep, the risk of causing a fire can actually increase when riding your OHV. To make sure your OHV is up to Utah regulations, check out the Utah Code – OHV Laws.

FEATURES

Todays OHV Rider — Utah OHV Safety Course
360-degree Trail Map
Tread Lightly Course
Order Your Non-Resident Permit

CONTACT US

Phone: (801)538-RIDE (7433)
Email: ohveducation@utah.gov
Address: 1594 W North Temple
PO Box 146001
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

OHV Registration & Permits

All OHVs must display a current OHV registration sticker when operated or transported on public lands or roads. Off-highway motorcycles may be registered as street legal if they are safety inspected and insured. OHV registrations expire annually on the last day of the month the OHV was purchased.

Beginning January 1, 2023, off-highway vehicles (excluding motorcycles and snowmobiles) will require a license plate.

Visit the appropriate link below for more information on how you can go about registering your OHV to help get you on the trail fast.

Ride safe, and happy trails!

HB180 Education Requirements

Beginning Jan. 1, 2023, Utah will require all OHV operators to complete the Utah Off-Highway Vehicle Education Course. Operators under the age of 18 shall possess a youth OHV education certificate in order to operate an OHV on public land, road or trail. Operators 18 years of age or older may operate an OHV if they possess an approved adult OHV education certificate. The test will be available beginning January 1, 2023.

DID YOU KNOW?

Did you know that properly installed and maintained spark arrestors significantly reduce the risk of starting a wildfire with your OHV?

Without regular spark arrestor upkeep, the risk of causing a fire can actually increase when riding your OHV. To make sure your OHV is up to Utah regulations, check out the Utah Code – OHV Laws.

FEATURES

Todays OHV Rider — Utah OHV Safety Course
360-degree Trail Map
Tread Lightly Course
Order Your Non-Resident Permit

CONTACT US

Phone: (801)538-RIDE (7433)
Email: ohveducation@utah.gov
Address: 1594 W North Temple
PO Box 146001
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

The monthly newsletter keeps you updated on Utah’s outdoor community, industry, events, jobs, stewardship opportunities, and more.

Stay up to date on Utah’s outdoor community by signing up here.

Check out past issues of our newsletter here.