Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-Highway Vehicles

Utah Youth Certification Course

Youth ATV/Motorcycle and Snowmobile Certification

To help ensure the safety of all riders, Utah law allows anyone under 18 years of age can operate an OHV on public land if they are:

  • Able to reach and operate each control necessary to safely operate the off-highway vehicle and;
  • Have in their possession an OHV education certificate or a valid Driver’s License and;
  • Under direct adult supervision

The online youth education course fee is $30 per student and you only need to pass it once. Once you pass, you can print out a temporary operator license that will be valid immediately. You will receive your permanent license in the mail.

The OHV certification covers all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), off-highway motorcycles (OHMs), and side-by-side ATVs (type II ATVs or UTVs), and the snowmobile certification covers only snowmobiles.

These education classes help keep you safe by teaching necessary skills, such as:

  • Safe riding
  • Proper machine sizing
  • Weight distribution
  • Responsible and ethical riding
  • Proper handling and shifting
  • Riding within your ability

OHV Education FAQs


Youth Safety Certification Courses

Pick the certification course that’s most convenient for you, with both online and in-person options available.

ATV/Motorcycle

Online courses:

Hands-on/In-person courses:

Snowmobile Courses

Online:

Replacement Certification Form

Need to replace a course certificate that was lost, stolen, damaged, or worn out? Fill out this form:

RESOURCES

Utah OHV Education Course
360-degree Trail Map
Tread Lightly Course
Order Your Non-Resident Permit

CONTACT US

Phone: (801)538-RIDE (7433)
Email: ohveducation@utah.gov
Address: 1594 W North Temple
PO Box 146001
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

Utah Youth Certification Course

Youth ATV/Motorcycle and Snowmobile Certification

To help ensure the safety of all riders, Utah law allows anyone under 18 years of age can operate an OHV on public land if they are:

  • Able to reach and operate each control necessary to safely operate the off-highway vehicle and;
  • Have in their possession an OHV education certificate or a valid Driver’s License and;
  • Under direct adult supervision

The online youth education course fee is $30 per student and you only need to pass it once. Once you pass, you can print out a temporary operator license that will be valid immediately. You will receive your permanent license in the mail.

The OHV certification covers all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), off-highway motorcycles (OHMs), and side-by-side ATVs (type II ATVs or UTVs), and the snowmobile certification covers only snowmobiles.

These education classes help keep you safe by teaching necessary skills, such as:

  • Safe riding
  • Proper machine sizing
  • Weight distribution
  • Responsible and ethical riding
  • Proper handling and shifting
  • Riding within your ability

OHV Education FAQs


Youth Safety Certification Courses

Pick the certification course that’s most convenient for you, with both online and in-person options available.

ATV/Motorcycle

Online courses:

Hands-on/In-person courses:

Snowmobile Courses

Online:

Replacement Certification Form

Need to replace a course certificate that was lost, stolen, damaged, or worn out? Fill out this form:

RESOURCES

Utah OHV Education Course
360-degree Trail Map
Tread Lightly Course
Order Your Non-Resident Permit

CONTACT US

Phone: (801)538-RIDE (7433)
Email: ohveducation@utah.gov
Address: 1594 W North Temple
PO Box 146001
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

The monthly newsletter keeps you updated on Utah’s outdoor community, industry, events, jobs, stewardship opportunities, and more.

Stay up to date on Utah’s outdoor community by signing up here.

Check out past issues of our newsletter here.